Contact Info

John & Finola Cooke, Catherlistrane, Near Headford, Co. Galway, Ireland.

Phone: +353 93 31163

Mobile: +353 86 0546564

Fax: +353 93 31528

Location:

Lisdonagh House : Irish Castle Rental, Galway

Loading...
Reviews of Lisdonagh House 2017-06-13T15:43:03+00:00

Reviews

“Lisdonagh House is magical”

Pierce Brosnan

“Olde World Charm in Rural Setting”

Acetraveller13 (Galway, Ireland) Reviewed May 2016

Looking down onto the lake, the pastoral landscape is a joy to behold, either from inside the house or while wandering the fields and by roads of this very special house. Build in the 18 century, it truly is a jewel, the owners have updated the house tastefully, it’s warm and comfortable with modern bedding and facilities. We had the pleasure and use of Lisdonagh Manor and one of the Coach Houses, “Inisfree” which is such a cute, cosy 2 bedroom house in the Coach yard. The caterer was superb, Martina cooked monk fish and rack of lamb for us on Saturday night, also a sweet roulade treat, it was ALL OF IT delicious, so totally YUM… honestly you’ll love her food.

“Amazing Place”

Lydia D (Dublin, Ireland) Reviewed September 2015

Myself and 19 others just spent a magical weekend at Lisdonagh House. The photos don’t do the place justice and we all had goosebumps as we approached the house. It’s in a world of it’s own, with beautiful furniture, ornate decor, luxurious large rooms with fireplaces to keep cosy. The rooms are spacious, all en suite, very comfortable beds, great showers, good quality bed linen and towels. We had dinner cooked for us one of the nights and the cooking was top notch, and the kind hosts allowed us to take their horses for a hack. There are peaceful and tranquil walks to take as well. None of us wanted to leave on Sunday! Will definitely be back, this place is a gem. Stayed September 2015, travelled with friends.

“Charming Home”

Bookgirl (Nebraska, USA) Reviewed 26 September 2015

We were a family group of 14 who booked the entire house in the end of August 2015. First of all, this is a clean and well-equipped house with everything you need. Some have mentioned that the kitchen could use some upgrading, which may be somewhat true but it worked wonderfully for us. John and his children took our six kids on pony rides, one of the highlights of the entire trip for them. His children were wonderful with the horses and our kids, it was really fun to watch. There are 9 bedrooms, each with en suite bathrooms. The rest of the house is decorated just as you would expect, and the artwork is amazing, ask John to tell you about it …. Lastly I can’t say enough about John’s hospitality. He and Finola arranged for a chef to come in on the first night of our stay and it was great. He took time late one night to give us a talk on the history of the house, and we kept him up even later with our questions. Stay here if you get the chance, it is wonderful! Stayed August 2015, travelled with family.

“Family Gathering”

Roxbur01 (Oxford, UK) Reviewed 2 September 2015

We booked Lisdonagh after a family wedding in Ireland. It was such a charming house set in a beautiful location. we were a mixed party of young and old and it catered for all. John was a wonderful host, and kindly took our children horse riding with his, which was a real treat. We were thrilled to be able to all sit round a table together in the evenings (14 of us) and loved relaxing by the fire in the drawing room. Pure Irish charm and what a stunning area Galway is. Stayed July 2015, travelled with family.

“Wonderful venue for groups in the Irish countryside”

Gjsbert_X (The Netherlands) Reviewed 29 August 2015

We rented Lisdonagh main house plus one of the cottages with a group of 22 people in August 2015. The decoration of the house is stylish classical, very charming, although it needs some maintenance. The house is almost 150 years old located in the countryside, which makes it very charming and quiet place. With 3 min drive/15 min walk there is a small lake, suitable for swimming in summer time. The layout of the main house is excellent for group gatherings of 15-25 people. On the main floor is a large, comfortable living room, a large dining room, a large kitchen, main hall, stairway and a library. The kitchen is well equipped for cooking group meals, although it requires some upgrading. In the main house are 9 bedrooms for 2 persons, each with a separate bathroom: 4 on the basement floor with sufficient day light and 5 on the top floor with wonderful views over the countryside. The cottage has a nice kitchen plus living room on the ground floor and two charming bedrooms. The location is right the countryside of West-Ireland , close to the village of Headford and within 30 minutes drive from Galway and Cong. It is suitable for day trips to Connemara National Park, the Burren with the high cliffs of Moher and the Aran Islands. John and Finola Cooke have been very helpful and friendly hosts, giving our group of friends a great week in Ireland. Stayed August 2015, travelled with friends.

“Wonderful Renovated Georgian Mansion”

Caroline M (New Hampshire, USA) Reviewed 18 January 2015

Lisdonagh House is in THE most beautiful location on over 100 acres of meadow & woods. Our room looked out on a lovely pond with cows & sheep in the fields beyond. There are bronze age earthworks, chestnut trees over 400 years old, places to ramble or relax both inside & out, horseback riding is available, & the graciously proportioned old Georgian house has been beautifully & lovingly remodeled. Our hosts were charming, & the food wonderful. Cannot recommend highly enough. The old stable block has been turned into several very attractive efficiency units – I would live in one happily on a vacation! Visited September 2014

“Charming”

Civharas (Capetown, South Africa) Reviewed 18 September 2013

I stayed here with my two daughters in July this year. Lisdonagh is everything it says on the tin! It is a real gem. Hidden away, surrounded by woodland and countryside. A truly beautiful setting. We stayed in the Villa and were treated like family. The house was warm and comfortable, and we lacked for nothing. We had a great time going out on day trips all over the west of Ireland. What a wonderful break. Thank you Finola and John and your delightful children. Maybe, just maybe we will be back one day. Stayed July 2013, travelled with family.

“Awesome”

Sharon 31_49 (New York, USA) Reviewed 4 September 2012

I was fortunate to accompany a large (very large 40+) family gathering (determined by the Notre Dam/Navy game in Dublin) with my daughter and her family. We “owned” the plus acreage and manor house and villas and gate lodge for an entire week with the most phenomenal Irish family (friends) along with their dog, Lilly and their chickens and horses, as our landlords. Make no mistake, this place is a getaway ….no walking to pubs….it is Irish countryside with a most humorous (previous owners) and interesting history of the manor itself, along side the warm and friendly family who now own and run it. Lacking amenities: big screen tv’s, american showers, plush wrap-around towelsThe plus side: no big screen tv’s, country living, warm and friendly people, plenty of towels if you ask, the most warm and friendly hosts and the most magical experience of our lives. Children of all ages can appreciate. Delicious food, wonderful and warm staff and the most amazing home away from home. I loved every moment. Stayed August 2012, travelled with family.